Authentic Puerto Rican Cooking

I love to cook and try to as much as I can. Seriously. I enjoy preparing meals for my family to enjoy. So in 2013 I decided to try to cook as much as possible and I am posting on my Facebook what I cook for dinner every day. I try to cook fast, easy and healthy (sort of) meals. I just want to look back and see how much I have throughout the year. Some people think that Hispanic cooking is not healthy, full of fat and sodium. I try to use canola or olive oil and use as little as possible (except every once in a while when I fry chicken or pork)
Most of my cooking is Puerto Rican (duh! born and raised in P.R.) There are a few things that almost every Puerto Rican kitchen has.

A caldero is an aluminum pot with a tight fitting lid. They are relatively inexpensive; they come in different sizes and you can easily find them in stores. This 3 piece set is online at Target for $20.99
caldero

They are great for stews, rice and for frying. The trick to great rice in a caldero is that you have to season it. When new, pour enough oil in the caldero and heat it for several minutes. And NEVER EVER place your caldero in the dishwasher!! You will strip all the seasoning off of it.

Another must have is Sazon Knorr with Coriander and Annatto. It comes in little packets and we use it to flavor and color a lot of our dishes, like yellow rice.
This is my favorite sazon, Knorr.sasonknorr
It’s not easy to find, but the Sazon Goya is available in most stores.
sasongoyaadobogoya

One of the most important condiments in our cooking is adobo. Adobo is a blend of salt, pepper, garlic onion and other spices. We use it to season EVERYTHING. Honest!

Next is a Pilon or a mortar and pestle. It’s traditionally made out of wood and used to make sofrito, mash garlic and other spices and to mash plantains for mofongo. In front Is a rectangular wood block which is used to flatten fried plantains to make tostones (tostonera)
pilon

Since some of my friends on Facebook love the What’s for Dinner posts, I decided to make a cooking video. I made rice and beans with fried pork chunks. I use long grain rice and just bought pork chunks for stew at the supermarket. I use a caldero, sazon and sofrito. You will be surprised on how easy it is to make. You don’t need a lot of fancy ingredients. In my prior post I show you how to make sofrito. It can also feed a small army. We are only 3, but hubby loves leftovers for lunch the next day.
Here are the ingredients for the Rice and Beans. Watch the video for the instructions!
2 cups long grain rice
1 can (16 oz) beans, any except black beans
2 heaping tbs sofrito
1 tsp ground cumin
1tsp dried oregano
1 packet Sazon Knorr (or Goya)
2 tbs canola oil
Salt to taste.
For the Fried Pork Chunks:
2lbs cut up pork meat for stew
Adobo Goya to taste
Unseasoned meat tenderizer

Like and share the video!

4 thoughts on “Authentic Puerto Rican Cooking

  1. I have that exact set of 3 pots! My mami has a caldero that she’s had forever, I think since before I was born and it’s the one she uses every time she makes her arroz. So glad you left a comment on my site! I hope we meet soon, I’m in Orlando too. 🙂

  2. I just watched your video on how to make authentic Puerto Rican Sofrito it was a very large amount to make and I would love to make it. I was wondering how many cubanelle peppers and how many of the aji dulce peppers do you use in your recipe. I work at a greenhouse in Ohio and we sell the cubanelle and the aji dulce pepper plants. I’ve decided to grow some this year and want to try making my own sofrito I love your recipe it truly seems the most authentic one I’ve seen on the internet. I’m so glad I found your website. Thank you

    • Thank you! For a small batch you can use 1 bunch each of cilantro and culantro, 3 cubanelle peppers and about 10-15 aji dulces , 2 onions and 10-15 garlic cloves. Let me know how it turned out!

Leave a Reply

