Honey Chipotle Turkey Meatballs

Sometimes I get tired of cooking the same things week after week and I’m always looking for quick and easy meals to make. So I came across http://www.traceysculinaryadventures.com She loves ground turkey as much as I do! She has alot of ground turkey recipes. These meatballs caught my attention. My hubby loves spicy food and my daughter is starting to like them too, me. not so much. When I saw honey and chipotle, it sounded like an awesome combination for us!
Like I usually do, I read the recipe, buy the things I don’t have and prop up the Kindle Fire with the recipe and start cooking. The first thing I did was open the can of chipotle peppers in adobo sauce. I was surprised on how yummy they smelled, it didn’t smell “spicy” to me. As I’m following her recipe, she mentions that it doesn’t have any type of breadcrumbs. Since I didn’t have the 1 1/4lb of ground turkey she used, only had 1 lb of 93% lean turkey, I decided to use 1/2 cup of panko breadcrumbs. Then I read the black pepper measurement wrong (The Kindle had gone to sleep) and I will adjust the recipe on what I did.
The meatballs are cooking, and I decide to make the honey chipotle sauce. She mentions from 2 tablespoons to 4 tablespoons of the chipotle peppers, depending on your heat tolerance. So I decided 2 tablespoons. I’ve never used canned peppers, so when I measured out 2 tablespoons and tried to chop them, I discovered they had seeds. So I take the pieces of peppers (they were whole, cut in 3 sections) and rinsed them under water to take all the seeds out, thinking the sauce would look prettier without them.
I measure out everything for the sauce and use about 4 pieces of the chipotle peppers, roughly chopped. Oh my goodness was that HOT!!!! To me it wasn’t edible, so I fished out most of the peppers, added more vinegar and honey and it was still spicy, but bearable. The end result was yummy! The sauce reduced in the oven and coated the meatballs nicely. I served them with rice and beans.

Finished product!
06-20-13 004

Here is the recipe I sort of followed:

Honey Chipotle Turkey Meatballs
adapted from Martha Stewart

1 1/2 lb ground turkey (I used 1 lb of 93% lean turkey)
1/2 yellow onion, diced small
2 garlic cloves, minced
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon black pepper (I used 1/2 teaspoon)
4 tablespoons honey
2-4 tablespoons chopped chipotle chiles in adobo sauce (depending on your tolerance for heat)
4 teaspoons cider vinegar
1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil  (I used canola oil)

*****Not in the recipe but I used 1/2cup of panko breadcrumbs*******

*****I also don’t have a skillet that I can use in the oven, so I browned them and placed them in a baking dish******

Preheat oven to 375 F. In a medium bowl, stir the onion, garlic, salt, and black pepper together then add the turkey to the bowl and use your hands to mix just until combined (do not overmix). Form into 16 meatballs (each will be about the size of a golf ball). In a small bowl, stir together the honey, chiles, and vinegar.

Set a large ovenproof skillet over medium to medium-high heat and add the oil. Once it is shimmering, add the meatballs. Cook until browned on all sides, about 10 minutes. Move the skillet to the oven and bake the meatballs for 5 minutes. Remove the pan from the oven (remember, the handle will be hot!) and pour the sauce over the meatballs. Bake for another 5 minutes (swirling the pan at the halfway point), or until the sauce has reduced to glaze the meatballs and the meatballs are cooked through. (Keep an eye on your meatballs in the oven – without eggs or milk-soaked bread for added moisture, they have the potential to dry out if overcooked.)

Makes 16 meatballs

2 thoughts on “Honey Chipotle Turkey Meatballs

Leave a Reply

